Tipsy Flower Pots

This has been the month of projects for me. This past weekend I decided to try the “tipsy pots” flower pot tower. It came out pretty nice. I bought way to many flowers so I had to spread them out in other places in the yard.

If you haven’t seen this, you can of course Google images of them, but it is as easy as gathering flower pots, paint them if you want, build the tower and plant the flowers.

You will need 5-6 pots depending on how high you want it to be and then either Rebar or Electrical conduit. The pot at the base needs to be bigger – I think mine was 12 in on the bottom. I used conduit since I was able to get it pre-cut at 5ft at Lowes. Rebar only came in 10ft lengths at both Home Depot and Lowes so I passed on that. I wasn’t sure how I was going to cut it to size and neither local store would cut it for me while I waited.

You pound the conduit about 2 ft into the ground and then thread the pots through the holes in the bottom. The first pot is flat on the ground, the next one you sit slightly in the dirt but tilt it and then let the rest of the pots tilt on one another. It looks cool and gets a lot of attention. I primed and painted all my pots, but if you like the natural clay look then you can skip over the painting part. You can get away with one flat of flowers if you want all the same flowers. I mixed mine up, but I had way to much. I am not a gardner at all so if you are then you will be better than I was at the greenhouse. That was a little overwhelming to say the least. I went to a HUGE greenhouse and truthfully didn’t see the whole thing.

I used Miracle Grow potting soil as well so I’m hoping it lives up to its name…..since my green thumb really isn’t very green. When I bought my house I benefited from the previous owners gardening skills! Here is the end result!

~ by callingallcurves on May 20, 2013.

2 Responses to “Tipsy Flower Pots”

  1. Looks great!

  2. The red containers are very eye-catching.

Leave a Reply

 
TheEyreEffect

Practical vintage with a novel twist.

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

Imaginations-Jewelry

"The goal isn't to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.” ~Chuck Palahniuk

DianaStylist.com

Hair, Make Up & Beauty

Diamonds & Stardust

Thoughts, inspiration...

