T-Shirt Scarf

Ahh Pinterest….you have to love it.  I usually find some pretty cool things on there.  Over the weekend I stumbled on T-Shirt Scarves.  I love the look of a scarf, but I don’t like all the bulk up close to my face.  I tug on them all day.  Maybe if I had a longer neck it would be different, but that isn’t going to change.  There are several sites you can go to for directions on how to make a  t-shirt scarf.  I even found a couple You Tube videos to watch.  Since I am a more visual learner it was helpful for me to see how it worked.

Basically, you take a cotton t-shirt and cut it off under the sleeves and then cut the hem off so you are left with a tube.  Then you can do one of two things, either cut the shirt stopping just before the seam so you end up with what looks like a grass skirt, or completely cut the tube into one inch strips.  Then you stretch each strip so that it rolls and starts to look like a noodle.  Then, gather up all the “noodles” and use the hem piece to cover up the seams.  I covered up both sets of seams on a couple of the ones I made.  You can use the same fabric, or use ribbon or contrasting yarn to cover the seam.  Then over your head it goes!  You can wear it long, but I like to double it up so that it works like a necklace.

Very fun and very fast to make.  No sewing required.  I used scissors, 3 shirts, and my ever favorite Fabri-Tac glue!  I got my shirts on clearance at JCP over the weekend.  They were $3.50 each so that was a pretty good deal.  Get crafting friends!  It is fun!

Last but not least, the link below will take you to one of the videos that I watched.  She does the “grass skirt” cut.  It worked, but I found that cutting the t-shirt completely in strips worked better for me.  If you try this out, let me know how it comes out!

http://hellogiggles.com/diy-t-shirt-scarf

~ by callingallcurves on October 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
TheEyreEffect

Practical vintage with a novel twist.

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

Imaginations-Jewelry

"The goal isn't to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.” ~Chuck Palahniuk

DianaStylist.com

Hair, Make Up & Beauty

Diamonds & Stardust

Thoughts, inspiration...

