Mixing in Color to Your Wardrobe

I love color.  I very rarely wear anything that doesn’t have color in it.  For those of us who are on the curvy side though, sometimes people assume that all we will wear is basic black and brown……to hide the curves.  Not me.  Though I do confess that I always wear either black pants or dark wash jeans.  It’s no secret that black does have a slimming effect. But that doesn’t mean that I don’t add color to it.

You will find me most often in black pants and a colorful sweater or top.  I especially love magenta and purple.  Being fair-skinned with dark hair seems to make it easy for me to wear color as well.  I don’t do well in pastels or tans, and if I do wear them, I keep those colors way from my face.  They tend to wash me out really bad.  Typically my make-up is more colorful as well.  I’m especially fond of fuchsia lipstick.  Unless I happen to be wearing red, it is my go to lipstick color.

So are you afraid of color?  You shouldn’t be.  But, if you want to ease into it, start with colorful accessories like scarves, necklaces, or even shoes.  You can have on all black and a really colorful necklace and the necklace is what people will notice the most.

I found the necklace below at an art store.  It is made by Treska.  It has become a favorite and I wear it a lot.  It goes with everything and has a lot of pops of color in it.  It’s perfect!

~ by callingallcurves on October 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
TheEyreEffect

Practical vintage with a novel twist.

Maskcara

Get out there, gorgeous.

California Pixie Vintage Fashion Decor Style Blog

Kimi Encarnacion is a vintage junkie with an obsession for kitschy decor and a mad love for fashion and personal style.

Imaginations-Jewelry

"The goal isn't to live forever, the goal is to create something that will.” ~Chuck Palahniuk

DianaStylist.com

Hair, Make Up & Beauty

Diamonds & Stardust

Thoughts, inspiration...

